Why I will never put Hallmark out of business

Besides family, religious meaning and the presents, Christmas means so much more to a wannabefoodiecrafty gal like me. It means lots and lots of baking and crafting! And hopefully some cold weather days thrown in the mix (in FL you never can tell).

For the wannabefoodiecrafty gal (WFCG, for short) the season starts eaaarrrrllly. When Joann’s starts merching their seasonal stuff in September, the planning and decision making begins. What am I going to make? Who am I going to make stuff for? When can I get all this done?

I started thumbing through some of my crafting books and supplies last month. My son was being his usual nosy self, peeking over my shoulder. Immediately the cross stitch pattern of a train ornament caught his attention. Throughout all his begging and pleading a grand crafty idea was born.

HANDMADE ORNAMENTS!

Not just any handmade ornaments, but special ornaments that focus on each one of my kids’ interests, milestones, etc. in 2011. It’s like Etsy meets Hallmark without all the cranky old lady kitsch.

First ornament is complete. the train cross stitch looks great. The sewing, eh, I’m still learning (see: ganked up stitches in the second photo). Most important thing is that my son is excited about his ornament and can’t wait to hang it on the tree.

I’m currently working on felting a saxophone for my oldest daughter (her band instrument) and something ballerina themed for my youngest daughter who LOVES dancing. My hope is to be completed with these two the day after Thanksgiving so that we can hang our special ornaments on the tree that night.

Who knows. I may even give Hallmark a run for their money, but probably not.

About seejenread

I love books.

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Crafty Gal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

