She’s crafty…

I’m a little bit crafty. I can scrapbook, cross stitch and embroider. I’ve also altered a few things in my day. I create a Halloween and Christmas wreath every year. Made my own Christmas cards too. But there’s one crafty thing that scares the beejesus out of me…S-E-W-I-N-G.

SCREAMS

Isn’t that just silly? A modern-day homemaker scared of sewing?? I mean, I have all the markers of a sewing afficianado:

1. My mom sewed. My clothes.

2. I used to sew Barbie clothes on My First Singer sewing machine when I was 9.

3. I LOVE crafting. Joann’s is my church, yo.

4. I own a sewing machine (still in the box, but whatev)

5. I own more yards of fabric than any non-sewing woman should.

What the heck is my problem? Why haven’t I taken up the machine? The answer is simple…that &*$(*% bobbin gets me all the time. And that fast moving needle?!? I freak out thinking that I’m going to sew my fingers to my project. (YUM!)

Dumb…dumb…dumb. A grown woman should not fear these things.

This is going to help me conquer my fears (hopefully):

This is probably the world’s most awesome craft book ever. There’s a good mix of sewing and non-sewing projects with lots of Wookie representation (the Chewbacca jack o’ lantern ALONE makes this purchase worth it). There’s one project in particular that caught my daughter’s eye and inspired her Halloween costume this year.

I present to you the Ewok Hat:

Any Star Wars fangirl/boy knows that the Ewoks were L-A-M-E. But the heart wants what the heart wants. And she wants to be an Ewok for Halloween. So I’m embarking on project Halloween costume this week. Hopefully she won’t have to go as an Ewok with finger attachments on the hat.

Wish me luck!

About seejenread

I love books.

Posted on October 24, 2011, in Crafty Gal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

